The Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (NIALS) held its Annual Fellows Lecture and Conferment of Fellowships on Tuesday 6th November, 2018. 

The lecture which was delivered by Chief Joe-Kyari Gadzama, OFR, MFR, SAN, FNIALS, FCIArb (UK), was titled, “The Role of the Bar in the Fight against Corruption in Nigeria”.  In his lecture he discussed the various roles of lawyers as leaders of the anti-corruption fight as policy makers and administrators; advisers, prosecutors, defence counsel in corruption cases and as judges. His lecture also highlighted the basic qualities of legal practitioners in their avowed role in the fight against corruption to wit: Integrity, Courage, and Professionalism.

Following the lecture was the conferment of the prestigious NIALS Fellowship Award on Six (6) distinguished scholars and jurists who have distinguished themselves and made valuable contribution to the growth and development of the Institute and the legal profession.  The Conferees are as follows: Hon Justice Kekere-Ekun JSC; Hon. Mr. Justice Ishaq Bello, Chief Judge, FCT High Court; Hon Mr. Justice Benedict Kanyip, PhD, Judge of the National Industrial Court; Prof Ademoola Poopola, Professor of Law, University of Ife; Professor Epiphany Azinge, PhD, SAN, OFR, Former DG, NIALS and an Elected Judge of the Commonwealth; and Mr Tayo Oyetibo SAN.

The event which was chaired by the Chairman Board of Trustees, NIALS Fellows Foundation, Hon Justice Umaru Abdullahi, CON, FNIALS featured other Fellows of the Institute and giants in the Bar and Bench of the legal profession such as Hon Justice  Mary Peter- Odili (JSC), FNIALS; Chief Adegboyega Solomon Awomolo, SAN;  Prof. Ameze Guobadia, FNIALS, Former DG, NIALS;  Hon Justice Roseline Bozimo, Administrator, National Judicial Institute (NJI),  Hon. Justice Nasir Ajanah, Chief Justice, Kogi State;  Prof. Tahir Mamman, SAN, Vice Chancellor of Baze University;  Prof Dakas C.J. Dakas, SAN and former Dean of law, University of Jos;   Prof. Bolaji Owasonoye, Secretary- Presidential Anti-Corruption Advisory Committee (PACAC);  Prof Lanre Fagbohun SAN, Vice Chancellor Lagos State University; Kehinde Olamide Ogunwumiju SAN etc.